Iran, Turkey, Syria, Saudi Arabia set to meet for first time at Baghdad Summit

News About Turkey - NAT
1 Min Read
The Arab League met on November 19, 2017 in the Egyptian capital, Cairo.

The Baghdad Summit is scheduled to take place on April 20th with several Middle Eastern countries set to participate in this conference organized by Iraq.

The list of countries participating in the Baghdad Summit are as followed: Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Turkey, and Syria.

The parliamentarian heads of these seven countries will be the primary participants of the Baghdad Summit.

For Syria, this is a big meeting because it will mark the first time since the start of the Syrian Conflict that they will be participating in a non-Syria related conference with Saudi Arabia and Turkey.

Furthermore, the conference will see two major regional foes participating: Iran and Saudi Arabia.

Iran and Saudi Arabia have no diplomatic relations and both nations are pitted against each other in a number of proxy wars in the region, most notably Yemen.

Despite these rivalries, the Baghdad Summit conference will be an important step for Iraq to build their diplomatic and economic ties with their neighbors.

Source: AMN

Share This Article
Leave a comment